Board of Directors

Enkhmaa Davaanyam



Mike Buck

Chief Executive Office (CEO)

Dr. Oyungerel Janchiv 

Non-Executive Director

Ms. Enkhmaa is the CEO of Petrovis Group, Mongolia’s largest fuel supplier. Ms. Enkhmaa has over 19 years of international experience in financing and risk management of mining, infrastructure and energy projects and commodities trading. She serves as Deputy Chair of Board of Directors of Petrovis Group since 2011 and was appointed as the CEO in August 2013. Prior to joining Petrovis Group, Ms. Enkhmaa worked as a Managing Director at Macquarie Group for over 10 years, responsible for risk management in the energy sector in the United States. Ms. Enkhmaa was appointed as Petro Matad’s Chairperson in 2015.

Mr. Buck is a geologist/geophysicist by training and joined the oil industry in 1979. He spent 20 years with LASMO PLC working first as a prospect generator focused on the UK continental shelf. He then moved to international assignments in Indonesia, Colombia, Vietnam and Libya and was involved in the discovery of several commercial oil and gas discoveries. Following Eni’s takeover of LASMO, Mike became Managing Director of Eni Pakistan and then Managing Director of Eni Iran, working on major oil and gas developments in both countries. In 2006, Mike joined S E Asian focused Salamander Energy PLC as Chief Operating Officer. After the takeover of Salamander by Ophir Energy he was retained to help with the integration process following which he consulted for a number of companies in the S E Asian region before joining Petro Matad. Mike has worked on all aspects of the E&P value chain. He holds a BSc in Geophysics from Liverpool University and an MSc (with Distinction) in Petroleum Geology from Imperial College, London.

Dr. Oyungerel graduated from the Institute of Petrochemical and Gas Industry, Moscow in 1979. She began her career as an economist at the Ulaanbaatar Oil Terminal and in 1982 became the Chief Economist at the Petroleum Supply Department at the Mongolian Ministry of Transportation where she was employed until 1991. In 1991, she was appointed the CEO of the Petroleum Import Concern of Mongolia and in 1994 became the CEO and Chair of the Board of Directors of the government owned company, Neft Import Company (NIC). In 1996, she founded Petrovis LLC and was the CEO until January 2008 and has been Chair ever since. In January 2007, she completed a doctorate in economics in Moscow, Russia. In 2010, she became a Non-Executive Director of Mongolian Mining Corporation (MMC) which is listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. MMC is a high quality coking coal producer and exporter in Mongolia. On 15 August 2014, she was appointed as the Chairperson of Ard Financial Group.

John Henriksen

Chief Financial Officer (CFO)

Tim Bushell 1

Tim Bushell

Non-Executive Director

Mr. Henriksen has 35 years’ experience in the international oil industry and in April 2012 assumed the role of CFO for the Petro Matad Group, based in Ulaanbaatar. Prior to this he was the Country Manager for Salamander Energy’s Indonesian operations. Prior to Salamander, Mr. Henriksen worked in senior financial roles for VICO, ENI, LASMO, and Hudson’s Bay Oil & Gas, ultimately being responsible for all aspects of financial management, reporting and internal control. A substantial portion of Mr. Henriksen’s career has been spent overseas in developing countries and as a result he has a full understanding of cultural sensitivities and working with local governments and partners. Mr. Henriksen is a qualified accountant and holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Alberta in Canada.

Mr. Bushell is a qualified geologist with more than 30 years’ experience in the oil and gas industry. He has worked at British Gas, Ultramar, LASMO, and Paladin Resources. Most recently Tim was Chief Executive Officer at Falkland Oil and Gas Limited and Director/co-founder of Core Energy AS. He is currently serving as a Non-Executive Director on the Board of Rockhopper Exploration PLC and as a Director with Point Resources AS and Redrock Energy Limited.